Spin, Training plans, and Chilis?

Hey friends!

How is everyone’s Sunday going?

Did you have a good Saturday night? I saw Pitch Perfect and ate leftovers for dinner. That movie was hilarious. I haven’t laughed that hard in a very long time. Fat Amy made the movie. It was pretty predictable and the actors were just average but funny it was!!! I had a bunch of really good laughs!

This morning I got up bright and early and headed to the gym. I decided to head into the spin studio with my mom and we did our own 50 minute class.

photo (65)

I was feelin the burn!! I was a sweaty mess and I felt great. It was no run, but it will definitely help to keep up my endurance while I am taking time off from running for my foot.

Since I haven’t been running I have been researching training programs to help me prepare for my half marathon in April. I have 13 weeks after today and since I want to take another good 3 weeks or so off to ensure that my foot heals completely. While I was browsing the internet, I came across the Hal Higdon plan I was using (http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51312/Half-Marathon-Novice-2-Training-Program) Sadly, in the interest of time I will not be able to use that. However, I found this website that could be very helpful!
http://mba.tuck.dartmouth.edu/pages/clubs/triathlon/training/Half_Marathon.htm

I am thinking about using this (from the above website) when I am ready:

Intermediate

Table

Week

Mon.

Tues.

Wed.

Thurs.

Fri.

Sat.

Sun.

1

Rest

3-mi EZ

7 x 400 SPD

3-mi EZ

Rest

3-mi PC

8-mi LNG

2

Rest

3-mi EZ

2 x 10-min TMP

3-mi EZ

3-mi EZ

Rest

5-K RC

3

Rest

3-mi EZ

8 x 400 SPD

3-mi EZ

Rest

4-mi PC

9-mi LNG

4

Rest

3-mi EZ

2 x 10-min TMP

3-mi EZ

Rest

5-mi PC

10-mi LNG

5

Rest

3-mi EZ

9 x 400 SPD

3-mi EZ

3-mi EZ

Rest

10-K RC

6

Rest

3-mi EZ

20-min TMP

3-mi EZ

Rest

5-mi PC

11-mi LNG

7

Rest

3-mi EZ

10 x 400 SPD

3-mi EZ

Rest

3-mi PC

12-mi LNG

8

Rest

3-mi EZ

2 x 5 min TMP

3-mi EZ

Rest

Rest

Half-

Marathon

Have any of you trained for a half marathon in under 12 weeks? Is this a decent plan? I plan on taking this very easy on my body and I no longer have a set time I want to achieve. Finishing and running the whole thing is my goal. Please let me know what you have done in the past as well as what has or has not worked for you! I wanna know!!

Breakfast today was cereal again! Yum!! Love it!

photo (66)

For lunch, we went to Chili’s with Mike’s roommates. I chose the grilled chicken salad from the lighter menu. I opted out of cheese and salad dressing on mine. I decided to top it with salsa after we loaded down the chips and salsa for our appetizer. SO good. Plus saved some calories! Can’t beat that!

photo (64)

Not sure what the plans are for the rest of this evening, but they are sure to be relaxing! Have a great rest of the weekend everyone!

Question of the day: What is your preferred training plan for a half marathon?

-As this is my first I have only ever used the Hal Higdon, but I am looking for a shorter plan to give my foot plenty of time to heal.

One thought on “Spin, Training plans, and Chilis?

Leave a comment :)

