Recipe and a new gadget!

Hi Friends! Happy Monday! I hope your week is off to as great a start as mine is!

Yesterday I started to get hungry mid-afternoon so I had a bowl of cereal to tide me over until I made dinner for mike. It did the trick!

photo (121)

I think I was mindlessly eating because I was bored. I kept walking to the fridge looking for something. Turns out I just really needed something to keep me busy. So… this guy and I took a nice walk!

photo (128)

“My pack has given me a special mission! Name that movie!

photo (127)

“Come on Jackie hurry up!”

After our walk I came in and started to prepare dinner! Chicken Parmesan:

I combined marinara sauce and a can of chunk tomatoes in garlic and olive oil and let them cook on low in the crock pot for a few hours. This saved space on the stove for me to do the other cooking later.

recipe 001

Next, I set up my crust station for the chicken:

  • ·        Flour with salt and pepper
  • ·        Egg dip (1 egg +1 egg white)
  • ·        Italian seasoned breadcrumbs

recipe 006

Then, I tenderized my chicken by wrapping 2 breasts in plastic wrap and hammering them with a crab mallet… I was trying to be resourceful!

recipe 003

Once they are at the desired thickness… begin to bread…

recipe 008

Dip in flour, then egg, then bread crumbs.

recipe 009

recipe 010

Place into preheated skillet with olive oil and pam. Allow crust to develop and flip. I then baked the chicken breasts to heat them through.

While cooking the chicken, simply prepare pasta (whole grain) according to the package instructions.

recipe 005

When the chicken is done, cover with mozzarella cheese and broil until melted.

When it is melted, place on a bed of pasta and cover with marinara mixture! Enjoy!

recipe 012

I served a salad with dinner and some fresh Italian bread (From the store!).

recipe 011

After cleaning up dinner, off to the couch to prepare for the premier of the Walking Dead…

I don’t think Spark was nearly as excited as Mike and I were!

photo (126)

Breakfast this morning was my usual oats and peanut butter! Deeeelisshhhh! I love getting back to my healthy habits on Monday mornings!

photo (125)

I did my stationary bike for a bit at lunch before completing this leg workout:

1.      Single leg balance on forefoot 15 seconds on each foot. Repeat 3 rounds

2.      Heel drop on a step 10 reps on each foot for 3 rounds

3.      Single leg balance and squat 10 reps on each leg for 3 rounds

4.      Traditional squats with 25lb weight 10 reps for 3 rounds

5.      Plié squats with 25lb weight 10 reps for 3 rounds

6.      Leg Extensions on machine 10 reps for 3 rounds

**I got the first 3 exercises from this month’s issue of Runner’s world which is all about injury prevention. Definitely check it out. This issue had a ton of great advice!

I came back from the gym and had some lunch. I had a lot of sauce left over so I topped some carba nada pasta with it and enjoyed a simple salad on the side.

photo (123)

Tonight I am going to buy a food scale! I am thinking it will really help me see proper portions of things! Plus it is on sale at Target and who doesn’t need another trip there!

Have a merry Monday everyone! I hope you have the best day!

Question of the day: Do you use a food scale?

Leave a comment :)

