Sunday is a very Fun day and TACOs!

Happy Sunday afternoon, friends!
I hope your weekends have been fun and you went for a long run or made some delicious meals! Minus the run I did!

Last night, I made tacos for dinner for Mike! I started the meal with a healthy take on queso dip!

2.24 001There were a ton of leftovers, but it turned out great!
To make this dip, simply mix 2 softened reduced fat blocks of cream cheese, 6 oz fat free or reduced fat sour cream, a large jar of drained salsa (to reduce the liquid, it’s ok if you include some) and a bag of reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese. Simply bake for 20 minutes until bubbling!! I served this with some whole grain scoops!  It would also be good with pretzels or pita chips!

The main course was a hit!

I started by prepping the toppings for the tacos.

2.24 002I softened some peppers in a frying pan with salt, pepper, and Pam! I also chopped tomato and diced fresh cilantro.

2.24 003The laid all the toppings out buffet style for an easy method to make out tacos!
2.24 005Salsa, homemade guac, fresh pico, sour cream, shredded lettuce, the peppers, tomato, cilantro, and shredded reduced fat taco cheese.

I provided both hard and soft (whole wheat) tacos for the picking! In addition, I made shrimp, and browned some ground beef. I knew I wanted shrimp and Mike is a total carniovore!

The side dishes last night were black beans and easy peasy homemade (brown) spanish rice!

2.24 006My plate!!

2.24 007So good! Get in mah belly!

The rest of the night was spent babysitting for a friend and heading to bed early! I got a whopping 10 hours of sleep Saturday night! I woke up feeling so refreshed! Good thing! I had a lot on the agenda today!

Mike and I got to the mall just in time for lunch today! We decided Subway was the way to go!
photo (206)My 6 inch sub was turkey on 9 grain honey oat with all the veggies that would fit. I had just a dash of hot sauce on it! Water and baked chips on the side! Fueled!!!

After lunch, we did some shopping. We both knew we had to get gifts for our Moms. My momma’s birthday is just around the corner. I really hope she likes what I got her!

Shopping took it right out of us so we decided to have a treat of FroYo from my favorite Sweet Frog!!

photo (205)No chocolate syrup is a total bummer, but the cinnamon toast crunch was a winner!!
We rounded out the trip with a stop at Trader Joes and Barnes and Noble!

Can you believe it was my first trip to TJ’s? I loved it, but it was really crowded today. On a positive note, I can only assume that tells me volumes about the quuality things they sell! I can’t wait to go back again and try out more things! Of course I just had to buy somehting to make the trip worthwhile….

photo (204)Expect anything else??? Ha! Love me some PB!

We stopped into Barnes and Noble so that I could use the giftcard from my award at work!! Look what I got!
photo (203)I saw that the HungryRunnerGirl loved this book and I knew I had to give it a whirl! I am only a few pages in and I am already hooked. While I am out for my injury the least I can do is educate myself so that I can come back stronger and smarter than ever!! I have a genuine love for running and I can’t wait to get back at it! Today is my rest day and I considered doing some yoga, but I really want to let my body recover and have a chance to consider running this week. As of today, running tomorrow is out. I just want to make sure I am at 100% so that I don’t injure myself further.

I am gonna get back to my book but today was definitely a really good day.

Question of the day:
Are you a Trader Joe’s fan?

4 thoughts on “Sunday is a very Fun day and TACOs!

    • Thanks! Yes we always make that dip for guests! People love it!!
      The rice is super easy! I put 1 cup rice with one whole can of rotel, 1.5 T of taco seasoning, and about 1 cup water into a microwave container and just microwaved it until all the liquid was absorbed! I just add salsa the next day to reheat and liven up the leftovers if there are any!!

Leave a comment :)

