A challenging run, birthday muffins, and new breakfast!

Hi Friends! Today is a very special day…. it is my mom’s birthday so feel free to leave comments wishing her a great day! She is the best and I am so lucky to have a wonderful mom like her! Love you mom!!!

Recap of yesterday!

Last night I did a 3 mile run on the track… it was hard! It was bitter cold, windy, and the sun was going down. Womp, womp, womp. But guess what. I was running and I was happy! It definitely wasn’t easy but it motivated me to work that much harder!!

For my run yesterday I needed these things!

photo (246)

Compression racing socks (I loved them) my gear holder to carry my keys and chapstick, and headphones to listen to Pandora on my phone! I ended up not pacing myself well (my mile splits were all over the place but averaged an 8.30 pace… I was thrilled… not too shabby for his recovering girl!!! I cooled down, stretched, and headed home for dinner all by 6 pm!!

After dinner, I decided to make my mom some muffins for her birthday breakfast!! Cranberry orange anyone?

photo (245)

I mixed up the batter exactly as the box suggested and scooped them into festive cupcake liners!

photo (244)

They turned out perfectly, if I do say so myself!!

photo (243)

Breakfast today was slightly different that my usual hot oats. I was just perusing the grocery store last night and saw Thomas’ cinnamon raisin bagel thins and couldn’t resist. I topped that with a tablespoon of peanut butter. It was good, but somehow I still found myself with my stomach growling by 11am. Maybe I should sprinkle some chia seeds on the PB next time?

photo (242)

During my lunch hour I did an easy 20 minutes on the elliptical to warm up my muscles for a solid upper body workout! I have gotten so much better at real pushups since I got my stress fracture… silver lining!

Lunch today was a spin on yesterday’s!

photo (241)

In this is a cup of Al Dente Carba nada pasta. I also included a 1/2 cup of marinara, 1/3 cup of cut shrimp, and sautéed mushrooms onion, garlic, and spinach. So much more filling and nutritious than yesterday! It was really good and had a lot of flava!!!

Tonight we are going out to dinner with my mom and I am going to squeeze in my run before that. Tonight Baltimore and a lot of MD will be getting a lot of snow (**HOPEFULLY**) I could really use a snow day at 24 years old!! I hope you have a great night! Mine will be celebrating with my family for that wonderful woman I call Mom!

Question of the day:
What is your favorite snow day activity?

Leave a comment :)

