Snow day and a really good dinner!!!

Hi friends!! Guess what! My wish came true and I got my first ‘working’ snow day!! I woke up this morning and I was so excited I couldn’t fall right back to sleep so I caught up on some news and managed to sleep in til 8:30 which is late for this girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

Recap of yesterday:

I had another great run at the track after work yesterday but I forgot my Garmin… I was super bummed! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Thank goodness for the wonderful world of Apple though, my phone did the trick. I also really pushed myself to not rely on my Garmin. It was inconvenient to keep checking my phone so I only checked my pace at the end of each mile! I only finished .001 seconds worse than yesterday! Win in my book!!!photo

Last night we went out to dinner to celebrate my mom’s birthday in a casual local pub. I had the best dinner though. It really surprised me! Added bonus was that the restaurant had nutritional info on the website so I could ensure that I was making a good choice!! I ordered the balsamic glazed chicken topped with crab. This was served with mashed potatoes and green beans.

photo (248)Dinner was awesome and I ate every.single.bite!! Can you believe that this whole meal only had 471 calories while a Chicken Caesar Salad had 579! Good pick in my book!

We came home and finishsed celebrating my mom’s birthday… singing happy birthday really tired this guy out!

photo (247)

OK back to today!
After mosying about this morning I needed something to get me started… what else… coffee and oatmeal!!

3.5.13 0013.5.13 002

I felt energized and ready to start my day after my morning meal so I decided to clean out and organize the pantry! I love organization and felt so accomplished that I felt the urge to go clean out my closet as well! It took hours but I ended up pulling out an entire trash bag worth of clothes to give to my 16 year old cousin! Somehow my closet is still full… yikes. ๐Ÿ™‚

I worked up an appitite after all the organization this morning and had a delicious lunch! Turkey sandwich on light wheat bread with spinach and tomato! On the side is a tablespoon of roasted garlic hummus (I โค garlic) for dipping multi grain crisps into! I finished the meal with peach greek yogurt!

This guy was very happy we were all home to give him love all day!

3.5.13 004We’ve been calling him Spike lately for that unicorn of hair between his eyes… he needs a hair cut!

My workout this afternoon consisted of a 20 minute total body toningย video from my Shape DVD. I also did my 30 minute Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown DVD to really push myself today. It is my day off from running but I can’t wait to get back at it tomorrow!

I have noticed that my calves have been realy sore this week… I read from the Hungry Runner Girl (www.hungryrunnergirl.com) that it is better to keep your strides short in distance running because it minimizes your hard impact… thus being better on injury prevention. I am hoping this helps!

Question of the day:

How often do you clean out your clothes?

Leave a comment :)

