New spin on an old favorite!

Happy Monday friends!

How are you adjusting to daylight savings time? I love the light in the evenings! In fact, I am about to go out for my evening 3 mile run!! But, before I do here is a quick recap of my healthful day!!

I found a new recipe for my favorite oats and peanut butter combo last week onJulie’s Blog!!

Julie’s version was for Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookie Dough Overnight Oats so I decided to give it a whirl. I like oats. I like peanut butter. I like easy.

I switched up the recipe a bit and made it my own.

photo (267)

½ cup uncooked oats

½ cup almond milk

1 Tablespoon whipped peanut butter (easy to incorporate)

1Teaspoon brown sugar Splenda

1 Teaspoon chia seeds

(I also added some more milk in the morning to liven them up)

The nutritional info on this was great:

Calories: 278 Carbs: 36 Fat: 12 Protein: 9 Sodium: 143 Sugar: 6

I really liked this but I found I was quick to eat it. I think I prefer my oatmeal with the peanut butter melting over the warm and gooey oats! Great recipe though! Thanks Julie!!

While on the elliptical today (25 minutes) I read Slim for Life by Jillian Michaels again! I read some great stuff about HITT (High Impact Interval Training) and stepping up your strength training. Here are 2 pages I thought were very influential. I even tried to incorporate parts into my workout at lunch!

photo (266)

My strength training at lunch went in a circuit 3 times today.

12 Pushups ( I tried to do them on one leg in the last set, holy hard)

10 1 leg bicep curls

10 1 Leg shoulder raises

10 Triceps Dips on bench

10 Hammer Curls

10 Shoulder Press

10 Skull Crushers

30 Seconds of Mountain Climbers

Rest 30 seconds and Repeat.

This was killer and I really pushed myself. I found the mountain climbers to successfully raise my heart rate and did them as hard as I could for each 30 second interval! I made sure I used proper weights and switched around so that my muscles were fatigued but I still used proper form.  I also noted that Jillian said to focus on the push/pull aspect of muscles. I made sure to go up quick-ish and go down slowly so that my muscles were really working yet controlled!

photo (265)

Lunch today was a spin on leftovers from my Friday tacos! I made a taco salad! Onto my salad went shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes, ¼ cup leftover guacamole, 3 oz of shrimp and salsa to top it off. I also had some almonds on the side and a pear that went un pictured. Greek yogurt was my afternoon snack!

photo (264)

Off to go get my run on!! There are only 47 days til Nashville!!

Have a great rest of your Monday night my friends!

Question of the day:

Oats… hot… or cold… that is the question!

Leave a comment :)

