LEGS

Happy Monday!

This dark Monday morning began with coffee and a banana… without that coffee luring me out of bed I could have stayed curled up in blankets all day!

photo (305) Breakfast today was another oats in a jar kinda day… I had a few emptiesh jars laying around that are now finished! Yay!

photo (303)I think people at work really liked my new shoes today or they just heard me stomping through the halls in this clod-hopper…. you be the judge. Don’t be jealous!

photo (304)Lunch today was a salad. Veggie packed to boot! I had spring mix topped with tomato and some Perdue Short Cuts Grilled Chicken. I used Kraft Lite Balsamic Any dressings and it was just ok…

photo (302)Carrots and roasted garlic hummus on the side! Mmmmm!!

My afternoon snack today was this Kashi Bar. Seriously these are fantastic and don’t even taste healthy for you! go get them immediately. You will not regret it!!

photo (300)After my weight session at lunch today I am sure my legs will be sore tomorrow! I had plenty of time to do all of this since I will be doing cardio in the evening on the spin bike…

I was able to finish the below workout in about 35 minutes. For each exercise I did 3 sets of ten reps holding a 10 lb weight in each hand unless noted.

  • Squats
  • Dead lifts
  • Calf raises (body weight only)
  • Walking lunges
  • Bridge (body weight only)
  • Curtsy lunges
  • Back Lunges
  • Side Lunges
  • Donkey Kicks (5 lb weight in knee-pit?!)
  • Leg extension using machine

My legs are going to be very strong when I get running again, but until then I am going to focus on becoming more healthy and fit as a whole.

While I love to run, running does not define me! It is something I love to do and something that always challenges me to be better. There is always going to be another race and always going to be other challenges in life and it is times like this that make you stronger and more well-rounded as a person!

Since this half marathon is just about out of the picture, we are still going to Nashville and going to have the best time ever! Not only will I not have enough time to re-train myself, I will also not want to risk the injury while I slowly recover from the stress fractures in both feet. I am hoping my doctor will be able to get me back to running in good time. Until then, I will work on getting stronger, leaner, and more toned since more often than not I prefer to just run… a good athlete with no strength training = not the athlete I want to be!

Until I get back into running consistently I will plan on focusing on shorter races and hopefully do another half marathon in the fall when I am back into my PRIME!!

Question of the day:

What is your favorite race distance? What have you done to laugh in the face of adversity from what you love to do?

Leave a comment :)

