Tasty Tuesday: Confetti Mac!

Hey Guys! Back again for another shot at “cooking” and I have a good idea for you! For anyone that has every wasted a few hours… or a day on the wonderful world that is Pinterest …you know where I am coming from… I have a board that has tons of delicious looking recipes that I would love to eat but they look really hard/ unhealthy and I never look at them again until I have had to replace my keyboard from all the drool….. I digress…

I was on my Pinterest the other day looking at my boards and I was determined to make a recipe. But it had to be one I could handle and it had to be for something I really love. That is when I came across a Mom’s blog about trying to make her kids eat more veggies… basically she had to sneak them into things they already liked. What a concept. I need to do this for myself. Case in point…

In college, I think the base of my food pyramid of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. Seriously. As an athlete I could get away with it (Kidding myself)and I didn’t think twice. As a working adult who is trying to be more fit… I truly don’t remember the last time I enjoyed the box of cheesy powdered goodness…

So… long story short, I took arecipe and modified it to be more of my taste, I hope you like it!

Confetti/ FUNfetti Mac and Cheese (Just because funfetti is one of my most favorite things in the world, besides puppies, sparkles, and shopping, oh and the Real Housewives…)

Ingredients:

One box of Annie’s Whole Wheat Shells and White Cheddar cooked to package instructions (I used the 3 TBS Almond Milk and no butter)

1 cup Steam Fresh mixed vegetables

½ cup diced cooked onion (keeps it moist)

Directions:
Cook pasta per box instructions.

3.1 001

Cook veggies in the microwave until cooked through.

3.1 003

3.1 004

Drain both in colander to remove excess liquid.

Combine back into pot on stove and add in cheese and milk.

3.1 006

Stir. Add salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste.

Serve and enjoy!

photo (353)

Seriously, it doesn’t get any easier than this. I had it as the entrée for my lunch today along with a salad.

When serving it as an entrée this makes 2 portions or 4 side dishes. The nutritional information is not too bad either! 370 Calories 6 grams of fat and 14 grams of protein!!! While the carbs and sodium are a little high, as a complete meal this isn’t too shabby.. plus it definitely is healthier and more satisfying than the blue box!!

I hope you enjoy!

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Confetti Mac!

Leave a comment :)

