Tasty Tuesday! Back in Action!

Skinny ‘Dillas
Hey guys! After a 2 week break Tasty Tuesday Recipes are back in action!! Last night I was craving Mexican food (when am I not?) so I decided to lighten the calories but lay on the flava! I chose to make a “Skinny Quesadilla” of sorts!!
The options with this are endless!!
Step one.. Start out with your base for the quesadilla. A tortilla and cheese.
5.14 003
I chose the low carb whole wheat tortillas that were on sale at my grocery store along with fat free shredded cheddar because I had some on hand.Next time I will get reduced fat because the texture was sort of fake…
Like I said I wanted to reduce the calories without the satiety… So I sliced up some red bell pepper and red onion and sauteed them in Pam to soften them almost like a fajita!
5.14 0015.14 002
I then decided I needed a protein in this meal. I chose chicken since I already had baked some earlier in the week and portioned out 2 ounces and chopped it up! Easy Peasy!
5.14 004
Once all the insides of the quesadilla were prepared, I laid the tortilla on a skillet (on med-low) and put the chicken, veggies, and some chopped cilantro on one half. I measured out 1/4 cup of cheese and put it down too.
5.14 005
I simply let this warm up and folded in half. I flipped when it was cooked through.
5.14 006
I served this with a side salad, some fresh salsa, and mashed avocado for some healthy fats. This meal was so satisfying and it didn’t feel “skinny” or like anything was missing! I loved all of the textures and flavor combinations!!
5.14 007
I also made one for my lunch today at work but subbed out the chicken for 2 oz. of shrimp. The 2 oz measurement just seems to be enough to fill the tortilla.
photo (507)
This recipe is a piece of cake and I think anyone can do it! I really hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!
BIG QUESTION!!
Because of my foot issues, I will be unable to compete in the Zooma Annapolis 10K on June 1. I did sign up for Active Advantage and can transfer the registration to someone else. The fee is only $75. Please let me know if you or someone you know are interested in running. The packet pickup is the evening before and the course is just beautiful. I know a lot of other bloggers are running this and it looks like such an amazing event. I am so bummed I will not be able to run it. 😦
If you are interested, please email me at nachoavgrunner@gmail.com and I can get you all the information ASAP. Let me know if you have any questions. I really appreciate it. Thanks! 🙂
Leave a comment :)

