Diet V. Exercise

The other week when I was perusing the interwebs, I came across an article debating whether diet or exercise was more important.
In a healthy lifestyle both are important. In fact, both are critical.

I love exercise, but over time I have learned that diet is so important. I would run ten miles and gain weight! WTH right? Well,
through trial and error, and one too many burrito bowls, I learned what worked for me! I used to think I could eat whatever I wanted and
if I worked otu for over an hour it was fine. Clearly, that is NOT the case. That does more harm than good!

For far too long I was doing the same workouts and seeing no changes. I also tried to eat well but filled my diet with a lot of artificial
crap! I had so many fillers and diet meals and I was never satisfied! A Smart One or Lean Cuisine for lunch does not a healthy diet make,
even though it is so easy! I learned through the healthy living community, that food is not to be feared! Food is fuel and when you
eat more REAL whole food you feel better, look better, and function better!

It is not easy, especially when I have built so many habits and attitudes towards food in my past. But it is better! I feel better, I
stress less and I don’t fear as many foods as I used to!

Now I am able to workout for less time and less intensity (yoga) and not feel guilty! I have learned to listen to my hunger cues and eat
what I want (in moderation) and not feel guilty!

In fact, the article shows the best way to lose weight is to monitor your calorie intake:
“”It’s much easier to cut 500 calories than to spend an hour in the gym burning 500 calories every day,” says Timothy Church, M.D., Ph.D.,
director of preventive medicine research at the Pennington Biomedical Research Center at Louisiana State University. However, both diet and
exercise are essential for keeping that weight off. ”

Plus exercise make you feel better and makes you happier! “Exercise gives you endorphins, endorphins make you happy….” Elle Woods,
Legally Blonde. The article stated:  “Exercise causes the brain to pour out invigorating neurotransmitters like dopamine and norepinephrine, says Patrick O’Connor, Ph.D., an exercise psychologist at the University of Georgia. People who train consistently report surges in energy,
according to some 70 studies.”

I hope you check out the article! It is a quick and easy read and they lay it all out there for you!

Enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

One thought on “Diet V. Exercise

Leave a comment :)

