GUEST POST {Olives ‘n’ Wine}

Hey Guys!! Happy Monday!
I always like to start my week on the right foot and with a great attitude! We are both in luck today because Becky (!!!) is doing a guest post for me while I am in the Outer Banks on vacation… again… such a rough life… haha!

When I found the healthy living blogging community, Becky’s blog attracted me initially because she was real! She wasn’t unrealistic with anything she does… and of course…. she loves wine. Great minds think alike!  I became a follower of her posts immediately! She is funny and has an adorable doggy too! I definitely recommend you check her blog out! It is always informative and fun! I am very honored she took the time to stop by!

Becky has just signed up for her first marathon and while I am out of running I am loving seeing her train and succeed! You go girl!

So, without further ado, here is the lady of the hour!!! Thanks again Becky!

Hi! I’m Becky from Olives ‘n’ Wine – a blog where I share my passion for keeping a balanced life through eating well, tasting great wine, staying active, and traveling to new places – and I’m excited to be doing a guest post for Jackie today 🙂

Becky in Cali (1)

About 6 weeks ago, I decided to register for my first marathon – the Long Beach Marathon on October 13th! I have participated in other races, including a half marathon in 2011, but have never run more than 13.1 miles in my life. I’m most definitely anxious and terrified and excited, all at the same time!

Typical marathoner-in-training emotions, right??

7 mile pace (1)

Obviously training for a marathon involves running, lots and lots of running. I run 4x/week – Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday – which leaves me with 3 “rest” days to experiment with.

According to my training plan, I need to incorporate strength training into one of my rest days but the other two are supposed to be strictly “rest.”

cocktail

I’m going to be honest here, I’m not great at resting for an entire day! I’m good at napping (like the photo of me below napping while waiting for a bus in Greece!) and lounging on fancy sofas in cocktail bars and kicking my feet up after a long day of work but I am definitely NOT good at being still for an entire day.

sleeping in greece

Good or bad, it is what it is. So, since I don’t want to completely overload my body during my marathon training, how do I go about staying active on my rest days?

YOGA!

I have always LOVED yoga. I find hot yoga classes extremely challenging but so calming at the same time.

Yoga toes

On my strength training day, I hit up CorePower Yoga’s yoga sculpt class. This class incorporates weight training and cardio bursts into a yoga class – it is awesome and tiring and just what I need to get in some muscle work on my strength day!

On my rest days, I typically attend a “normal” yoga class. Yoga is great for stretching out hips and quads – both of which tend to get really tight after a few days of my marathon training runs.

walk

In addition to yoga, I also love to walk. I am fortunate enough to walk to my office during the work week and on my rest days, I try to take Mitchell (my dog!) on a long walk to loosen up my legs.

Thanks again to Jackie for inviting me to guest post – I hope you’ll stop over to Olives ‘n’ Wine and see what I’m all about!

How do you stay active on your “rest” days? What do you do to loosen up your legs after a long run?

One thought on “GUEST POST {Olives ‘n’ Wine}

Leave a comment :)

