Tasty Tuesday

Hey all! happy Tuesday! Boy do I have a recipe for you! I love experimenting in the kitchen and it has been far too long since I have done so!

Last night, when I was prepping shrimp for dinner, I realized that there would be a ton leftover and that got my wheels turning because they just do not save well! I knew I wanted to do a protein packed dish with the shrimp since I have been doing a lot of strength training lately with the Summer Shape Up Program so I got to work in the kitchen!

Enter the Protein Punch Lunch! (Apparently I am into rhyming and alliteration today…..)

All this recipe takes is:
1/3 cup of cooked quinoa
4 oz peeled and cooked shrimp
1/4 cup garbanzo beans (canned, drained, and rinsed)
Some fresh steamed vegetables, I had broccoli on hand
Salt, Pepper, Paprika, and Garlic powder to taste
1 T Teriyaki sauce plus 1 T water to dilute it

This meal comes out to about 275 calories and a whopping 35 grams of protein!

Some suggested variations: Add more veggies, this would be great with some onion, peas, corn and carrots! I would also add some soy sauce for some more flavor! Sprinkle on some sesame seeds if you are feeling snazzy!
This meal is really versatile so go ahead a play around in your kitchen a bit! I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!!

What is your favorite way to add extra protein into your diet?!

20130806-132743.jpg

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday

Leave a comment :)

