Tasty Tuesday Roasted Chicken

Hey guys! Guess what! I cooked an entire chicken this weekend! I’ve never done that before and I was super proud of myself! Look at me gettin all domesticated on ya! I thought I would share a few tips on what I did since I didn’t follow one exact recipe. I took tips and tricks from a bunch!

First, I thawed my chicken in the refrigerator for 2 days since I had frozen it earlier in the week.

Second, I removed the innards from the crevasse.  Gross. Then,  I washed the chicken and let in drain in the sink before patting it completely dry with paper towels.

While the over preheated to 350, I laid my chicken breast up in the disposable roasting pan (I am so fancy) and seasoned it inside and out with salt, pepper, and lemon juice. I stuffed the lemons that were squeezed out in the hole and also stuck in a sprig of rosemary. Any herbs that you like would do!

I baked my chicken for about 3 hours. You’ll want to bake it for about 20 minutes a pound. Close to the end, I also put a few pads of butter on the top so that the skin would get crispy! So good. When the little temperature gauge popped I knew my chicken was done but also checked with a meat thermometer so that no one got sick. Wouldn’t want that on my watch! It was date night in after all!
photo (821)
I pulled the bird out of the oven and let it rest for about ten minutes while I got the rest of our meal ready and then it was time to carve!

I let Mike do the honors of cutting and then it was time to eat! I served roasted red potatoes and steamed broccoli with the chicken and it was a great meal! Healthy and satisfying at the same time!

photo (819)

This definitely would have been good with some stuffing in the insides to soak up the juices! There are tons of Variations to this meal! The chicken is just the blank slate! What other ways do you do it!?

Leave a comment :)

