Very Special Girl’s Day

Yesterday I was a very lucky girl. My mom and I got to spend the day in the hospital with my awesome cousin Jaime.

photo (888)

Jaime just turned 32 and was diagnosed with Burkitt’s lymphoma (click to learn more) over the summer. She is currently on her 3rd round of intensive chemo and stays in the hospital for a week each time. Talk about brave! It sounds scary, daunting, and physically challenging to me, I am so proud of how well she is fighting this!! She has handled this with such grace, courage, and positivity and I am sure it is not easy to do that.

We got to spend a fun day with Jaime distracting her from the not so fun parts during this time. We talked, colored, and had a lot of fun laughing at my mom’s silly stories. We got Starbucks in the morning and had a treat of frosty’s in the afternoon. Good thing we had each other because we quickly learned there is NOTHING good on daytime television! 🙂 Plus, I am not sure we stopped talking long enough to see…

Jamie’s attitude and outlook on this sucky situation really inspired me. I know she doesn’t think she is being brave, but she is one of the most inspirational and real people that I’ve ever met. I can’t wait to go down and spend some time with her again and I really can’t wait for this to be over so that we can celebrate her kicking cancer’s ass!

The day truly flew by yesterday we were just so busy having quality girl time. We were sad to leave!

We came home last night and stopped for dinner at Cracker Barrel on the way home. Comfort food at its best!

photo (887)

We got home and had some quick snuggles with spark and then it was off to bed! Can you tell he missed her?!?!

photo (886)

It was up early and back to work for me today. I really wish I was back in Virginia spending time with her but I am definitely there in spirit. Love you Jaime!!

One thought on “Very Special Girl’s Day

Leave a comment :)

