{Tasty Tuesday} peppermint bark

Morning friends!

Who is ready for my first holiday edition of Tasty Tuesday? I sure am! With the holidays here (heck, once Halloween comes around basically I consider everything preparation for the holiday season!) I thought it would be fun to share some holiday and winter themed recipes for you to try out for yourselves!

I always like to take something to the host of holiday events, I know how much work goes into the meals and planning and I just like to leave them a token of thanks. That is exactly what I did on Thanksgiving and I think it was a hit!

Last week, I was looking for recipes and came across this super simple one for peppermint bark and knew immediately this would be my gift to Mike’s aunt for hosting Thanksgiving dinner!

I hope they liked it as much as I did! This even made enough to give Mike’s mom a container of it as well!  I just hope Mike didn’t eat too many ‘samples’ of it from their stash! HA!

I guided my version of the recipe from this recipe but I would definitely suggest a few changes to make this even better! I think doubling the recipe makes everything better too!

Ingredients:

4 Ghirardelli bars of white chocolate

4 Ghirardelli bars of semi-sweet chocolate

8-10 crushed candy canes (feel free to eat one when you make these, I did.)

2 tsp. canola oil, separated

½ tsp. peppermint extract separated

Directions:

I lined a 9×13 pan with wax paper and taped the edges down, if you would like this to be thinner, I would suggest using a baking sheet! First, melt the semisweet chocolate over a double boiler with 1 tsp of canola oil. Once it is almost completely liquid, add in half of the peppermint extract and mix well. Remove from heat and pour over the wax paper, smoothing out the entire time. Cover the chocolate layer with half of the crushed candy canes and refrigerate for an hour. Feel free to enjoy a glass of wine and relax while the first layer sets up in the fridge.

Repeat the double boiler chocolate, oil, extract situation with the white chocolate after the hour and then pour onto the solid layer of the semisweet chocolate. Be sure to smooth this layer down and top with the remaining candy canes!

I let this cool overnight in the fridge but 3 or so hours should do. When it has set to your liking, let it warm up on the counter for about 15 minutes so that you can easily cut or break the pieces apart.

photo 1 (10)

I wrapped mine up into these cute containers and they were on their way!

photo 2 (8)I am already craving more, I know this will be made again at least once over the holidays as it was such a hit! Who doesn’t love chocolate and peppermint!

Enjoy your Tuesday! I hope it is full of yummy things!

2 thoughts on “{Tasty Tuesday} peppermint bark

Leave a comment :)

