{tasty} stuffed peppers

Happy Friday! Are you all ready for the weekend? I sure am. This two day work week tired me out!! Ha! I’m ready for another one next week though!

With the holidays winding down I thought it would be appropriate to share a non holiday rece with ya! Are you sick of the cookies yet?!

Mike and I set out to make stuffed peppers last week and it turned out really delicious and I SO wish we would have remembered to take measurements so that we could perfectly recreate it. But, recipes like this always turn out good because the options are endless! You can switch so many things around and still have an amazing meal!

The motley crew of ingredients: (minus the peppers which were roasting)

20131226-133339.jpg

Basically, to make this recipe you first roast the peppers that have been washed, seeded, and tossed the tops! I suggest using small peppers because eating an entire green pepper is not always pleasant! Cook the pepper until it is soft enough to eat yet still strong enough to hold your fillings!

Next start browning your turkey with the taco seasoning of choice. We got extra spicy and nearly died. Oh we’ll. at the same rime you can sauté your diced onion!

20131226-133555.jpg

Now, my favorite part…. the FILLING!!! Here is where you can have some fun! In a pot, combine the meat, onion, 1 cup of cooked brown rice, a drained can of rotel tomatoes, some reduced fat cheese, and enough enchilada sauce to keep things saucy(we only used about 1/3 cup). Stir this all at warp speed until combined!

20131226-134027.jpg

To finish these off, all you have to do is fill your pepper!

20131226-134113.jpg

Over fill is what I always say!

20131226-134140.jpg

Because we didn’t measure, we had a lot of leftovers but Mike enjoyed them just as much without the pepper the next day! This would be a great burrito filling or NACHO topper if I do say so myself!!

I hope you guys enjoy these as much as we did!

Leave a comment :)

