{tasty tuesday} very berry smoothie

Morning friends! With my commute, I don’t get the luxury very often to eat my breakfast at home except for on the weekends. I love waking up on Saturday mornings knowing that I don’t have to rush out the door to beat the traffic so I can fiddle in the kitchen and make a hot or cold breakfast with no timeline.

This weekend was no different. Although it was a dreary rainy day, all I wanted was a delicious smoothie bowl full of fruit, protein, and healthy antioxidants. The power punch with this smoothie comes with the secret and tasteless ingredient…

…. Can you guess what it is?…..

20140113-192203.jpg

…my guess says you can’t even spot it!….

20140113-192247.jpg

…have I stumped you?….

The magic ingredient is spinach!!!

20140113-192339.jpg

This is the first time I have ever experimented with vegetables in a smoothie and this smoothie did not disappoint! Honestly, for those of you who gag (like my mom) when you see spinach on the ingredient list, I beg you to give this a chance. With all of the other flavorful fruits in this beauty you do not even taste or see the little leaves!

20140113-192558.jpg

This smoothie like everything else I make is very versatile and healthy! With well under 400 calories it is a divine breakfast for a morning that you want something sweet!

Ingredients:
1 cup almond milk
1 large handful fresh spinach
1 very small banana or half go a large one
1 small slices kiwi
1/2 cup frozen strawberries
1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1.5 scoops vanilla protein powder

All you do is blend and serve! Seriously does it get easier than that? I crumbled a little banana bread on top that was on its last leg and it was so decadent! This tasted like a sweet dessert! I do have to say it was fantastic fuel for my spin class and kept me full from 8-12:30! Now that is power! I blame it on the spinach! 🙂

20140113-193027.jpg

have you ever tried spinach in your smoothies!?

6 thoughts on “{tasty tuesday} very berry smoothie

Leave a comment :)

