Foot update- 6 weeks post op.

I have made great strides in the last 6 weeks since my surgery (for those of you new here, I had a bone spur removed from the top of my foot). I am walking now in normal shoes! No more crutches or boot! Wahoo!

In terms of fitness, I am sad to say that I feel like I lost all of my fitness. I started doing upper boy work last week and this week made it a goal to do something every day!

Monday: Upper body strength training
Tuesday: Core and back strength training
Wednesday: Upper body strength training
Thursday: Core, back and legs strength training plus 15 minutes (!!) on the stationary bike
Friday: I plan on doing 15 minutes on the bike as well as upper body strength training

I am really enjoying the strength training that I have been working on lately. I have a lot to build back up to and this is always what I tend to ignore when I can do more cardio! Hello, how do you think I got 2 stress fractures in 2 feet last year! Thank goodness I have learned tough lessons and gotten better with moderation.

Plus I have seen strides with my strength training! I like seeing muscles. Since muscles weigh more than fat, they take up less space in the body. I am not really concerned with my weight currently. Yea, I would like to lose a few vanity pounds, but I think that strength training will make a lot of visible changes, especially when I can start to introduce more and more cardio.

I am taking it easy on the cardio front for the next few weeks. My surgeon has cleared me from more checkups which is nice, but he said to just go as tolerated and ease into low impact exercises. I am definitely doing just that! Heck, I don’t want to hurt anything now that I have gone under the knife! So far I have only tried biking and that is not painful at all so I will stick with it for the time being!!

Enough of me blabbing on about myself! Tell me something fun you are going to do this weekend!!!!

Leave a comment :)

