Impromptu rest day

Yesterday was a great reminder to listen to my body. I had grand plans of getting up before work to exercise and maybe get a run in. However my body had other plans. I was on my feet A LOT on Monday and while I feel like my foot is doing awesome, it really wasn’t.

My surgery was 4 months ago and I’ve made huge strides towards getting my fitness back. But I’ve learned lessons through the process. I’ve learned to listen to aches and pains. The old me would have brushed it off and run a few miles just to make sure I get exercise in because the old me would panic if I didn’t exercise every day. I’ve learned a lot through my injuries. I will not lose fitness in a day and I won’t get fat from one day of letting my body rest.

By the end of the day my foot was feeling a lot better. Aches and pains will absolutely recur but I know before they become a real injury again I must rest and reevaluate. πŸ™‚

I’m so glad I listened to my body and was able to get a great Kettelbell workout in this morning! I felt refreshed and ready to get a killer workout in!

Ps we also had our first tasting from a caterer last night for a potential wedding venue. Holy fun! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Impromptu rest day

  1. Good for you on listening to your body. Unfortunately, you don’t see that happen much these days. Everyone seems so focused on burning calories, then truly resting when needed

Leave a comment :)

